Facebook About Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union

We're Hiring! Current open positions: Collections Specialist & Financial Services Representative. Email your resume to mhorne@myacfcu.org 

Appalachian Community FCUFiserv Solutions, Inc.FREE In Google Play
Appalachian Community FCUFiserv Solutions, Inc.FREE In Google Play
Appalachian Community FCUFiserv Solutions, Inc.FREE In App Store
Appalachian Community FCUFiserv Solutions, Inc.FREE In App Store


Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union is committed to building financial relationships that strengthen economically challenged areas through proactive outreach of relevant resources to improve long term financial independence.


Our History

Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union is a federally-insured financial institution established in 1932. Our original mission was to serve the employees of the Mead Paper Mill (currently Domtar) of Kingsport, Tennessee. We were given a community charter in 2001. Today, we serve eight communities in northeast Tennessee, southwest Virginia and eastern Kentucky. In January 2013, our charter was expanded to include anyone who belonged to the non-profit Human Economic Appalachian Development Corporation.


Our Mission

Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union uses community and economic development to improve the financial health of people and businesses who lack adequate access to capital, high quality financial services and financial coaching in Southeast Kentucky, Northeast Tennessee, and Southwest Virginia.

What is a CDFI?

Community Development Financial Institutions are mission-driven financial institutions that are dedicated to providing financial services to meet the needs of economically disadvantaged individuals within underserved communities. We invest in local communities who need financial services which may be unavailable to them. As a CDFI, we are certified by the U.S. Department of the Treasury. To qualify, we must have a primary mission of promoting community development, providing financial products and services, serving one or more defined low-income target markets, maintaining accountability to the community we serve and being a legal non-governmental entity.

As a CDFI, we must have a mission that serves low income communities. We are a part of a national network promoting economic growth in America’s underserved communities. Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union puts the community first and values local economic growth.

Board of Directors

Appalachian Community Federal Credit Union's Board of Directors is composed of volunteer credit union members, elected by the membership, whose main responsibilities and decisions benefit all who belong to the credit union. These individuals give their time and expertise to oversee the growth and prosperity of the credit union.


Board of Directors

  • Royden Russell, Chairperson
  • George Little, Vice Chair
  • Alex Castro, Treasurer
  • Trish Patterson, Secretary
  • Michael Hayes
  • J.B. Oaks
  • Paul Montgomery

Supervisory Committee

  • Joe Boggs, Committee Chairman
  • Trish Patterson
  • Jewel McKinney

Executive Team

  • Ron Scott, President & CEO
  • Tony Moss, EVP of Lending
  • Kim Walkup, SVP of Strategic Services
  • Aaron Duffy, SVP of Member Development & Legal Affairs

Annual Member Impact Reports

Member Impact 2017 |Member Impact 2016 | Member Impact 2015 | Member Impact 2014 | Annual Report 2013 
Annual Report 2012 | Annual Report 2011


Chat Back to Top